Upcoming: My Top 25 Favorite Songs of All Time

It began innocently enough.

I was hitching a ride with my roommate up to Phoenix, one leg of my trip home for winter break, when the song “Semi-Charmed Life” by Third Eye Blind came on his iPod.

“This is probably one of my top 25 favorite songs,” he said.

“Huh,” I wondered aloud. “I wonder what my top 25 would be? We should come up with a list over break and compare when we get back to Tucson!”

The suggestion was innocuous enough, perhaps it would distract me during some of my holiday downtime. But over the course of the last few weeks, this self-imposed curiosity has turned into full-fledged obsession. I have notebook pages full of potential candidates, crossed out, rewritten, re-crossed out. But after much thought, I finally have it. My top 25 favorite songs ever. Over the course of the next few days, I’ll be posting the list in blocks of five songs, with a few honorable mentions thrown in here and there since believe me, diluting a lifetime’s worth of musical experiences to only 25 songs was a next to impossible task.

Something to keep in mind as you read is that this is not meant to be a list of the best 25 songs ever. In fact, given my penchant for admittedly bad music, I can freely admit that there are songs that, for a variety of reasons, may be better. But these are my favorites, they, for all intents and purposes, constitute the playlist of my life.

So feel free to follow along with the countdown, and feel free to let me know what you think. The first segment will be up tonight.

Leave a Reply

